New FAQ For CSM & Daemons SPOTTED

By |2018-01-22T11:31:56+00:00January 22nd, 2018|Categories: Chaos, Daemons, FAQ, News / Rumors, Warhammer 40k|

khorne daemonkin sm wal chaos

Games Workshop just put new FAQs out for the Chaos Space Marines and the Chaos Daemons codices, and it looks like it’s going to be a game changer for some armies.

Let’s take a look at a couple big things that are changing in both.

First and foremost the Obliterators and Khorne Lord of Skulls are both getting Daemon removed from the Faction keyword line, and it’s being added to the keyword line. This is going to make it so they will no longer be able to be targeted by Daemon Stratagems according to the Daemons FAQ. (You can still “deep strike” Oblits per their rules)

Q: When a Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Daemons uses the Daemon keyword, can it be used to affect any unit with the Daemon keyword, or only units with the Daemon
Faction keyword?
A: These Stratagems can only affect units with the Daemon Faction keyword.

Mortarion Death Guard

This means you will no longer be able to use the Denizens of the Warp Stratagem to “Deepstrike” units that don’t have the Faction Keyword Daemons, effectively halting the aspirations of many a Chaos Space Marine player out there.

The Horrors are also getting an updated Datasheet altogether.

Page 130 – Horrors
Replace this datasheet with the one on page 2 of this document.

Horrors Datasheet

The big change on this Datasheet is the Ephemeral Daemons ability. Pink Horrors will now have a 4+ invulnerable save, Blue Horrors a 5+ invulnerable save, and pairs of Brimstone Horrors will now have a 6+ invulnerable save, just like the ones in the Daemon book.

There have also been some questions about Be’lakor that needed clearing up.

Q: If I include Be’lakor in a Detachment in which every other unit owes its allegiance to the same Chaos God, does that Detachment benefit from the Daemonic Loci ability?
A: No, as Be’lakor does not owe allegiance to any one Chaos God.

Q: What Warlord Traits can Be’lakor have?
A: Be’lakor can have any of the Warlord Traits from Warhammer 40,000 core rules.

So Be’lakor can have any of the Warlord Traits from the Warhammer 40,000 core rules, and because he doesn’t owe his allegiance to any one Chaos God Detachments he’s in do not benefit from the Daemonic Loci ability.

This is just a couple of the changes in the new FAQs, so make sure you head on over and take a look at the rest of the changes for yourself.



All in all, we’re seeing some good changes across the board in the new FAQs. Games Workshop really seems to be listening to what the community has to say, and we’re curious to see how these new FAQs change the way the games turn out in the end.

What are your thoughts on the latest changes? Are you happy that units without the Daemon Faction keyword won’t be able to Deepstrike with the Denizens of the Warp Stratagem? Drop us a line in the comments below and let us know.

plastic adeptus custodes new 8th edition warhammer 40k

Latest  8th Edition News & Rumors from Games Workshop

About the Author: