fbpx JOIN LOGIN JOIN LOGIN

Can You Really Get +4 To Seize the Initiative With Daemons?

By Rob Baer | February 17th, 2016 | Categories: Rules Conundrums, Warhammer 40k

daemonette close up

Come see the crazy stuff that some folks are trying to do with Daemons from  Curse of the Wulfen supplement, like get +4 to Seize the Initiative.

It’s that time again, and new 40k rules are here! Whenever new books come out for Warhammer 40k we love to take a closer look at anything you should be aware of before you step up to the tabletop or store register.

try at home


This article is rated Do Not Try This On The Tabletop.

We not to advocate any of these antics we talk about in here, it’s to educate folks as to what”that f-ing guy” can do, and thusly something you may see on the tabletop.


Inside the new supplement there is a Daemon formation called the the Infernal Tetrad, that that depending on who you ask may be the most open ended hot mess that Games Workshop has ever written!

b78ce53c-7d51-4506-98ad-75f40d934a8f

Checkout the wording on Shared Power.  Now normally the factions of Chaos don’t all get along at the same time, but these guys do, and they may be trying to break the game in true Chaos fashion.

Consider just the Tzeentch Warlord Trait chart from the same book:

cfb92057-dfcc-4fdd-8493-398975aa2ac5 - Copy - Copy

The way some folks are trying to argue Shared Power  is that things that give you modifiers to rolls, stack to benefit the rule it references itself. For example does getting #3 Warp Tether allow your warlord to get +4 to his Invulnerable save? What about Incorperal Form, does that make enemies target the unit at -4 BS?

See where this is going? It’s literally a pandora’s box of What If’s, and that’s not just the modifiers part either.

What if you get the Lorekeeper trait, does your Khorne Daemon Prince suddenly know how to cast spells after eons of bloodletting?

Now jump over to the main rulebook, and it really get’s sticky:

329df84a-0847-4b84-ab2c-8b64d4bef871

Those are some heavy duty modifiers there. Could you get +4 to seize, force your opponent to roll -4 to their reserves OR even try to pin their whole army pre-game?

Well there’s folks out there arguing YES to all of these already, and with Games Workshop keeping mum or bumbling FAQs like they do it’s doubtful that we’ll have a “clear” answer from them anytime soon.

So what say ye? Are you for or against this special rule, and why?

Khorne is so angry right now…

LVO Results Will Shock You? – Long War Episode 38

About the Author: Rob Baer

Virginia Restless, Miniature Painter & Cat Dad. I blame LEGOs. There was something about those little-colored blocks that started it all... Twitter @catdaddymbg
Go to Top